Campus History

Lake Superior State University is a vibrant independent regional state university serving the Eastern Upper Peninsula, and Northern Lower Peninsula with a wide range of programs at the associate and baccalaureate level. The University was established in 1946 as a branch campus of the Michigan College of Mining and Technology (now Michigan Technological University) and in 1966 became a four-year degree-granting institution known as Lake Superior State College of Michigan Technological University. In 1967 Lake Superior State College gained autonomy as a four-year baccalaureate degree-granting institution of higher learning with programs in the liberal arts and sciences, technology, business, and health fields. The name of the University was changed to Lake Superior State University in 1987 by act of the Michigan Legislature.

The University is located in Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, in the Eastern Upper Peninsula of the State. The campus of 120 acres overlooks the St. Mary’s River and Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario. Also within view are the Soo Locks which make it possible for ships to pass between Lake Huron and Lake Superior. The University is situated on the historic site of Fort Brady, a United States Army post dating back to 1822, which was decommissioned in 1944. The campus is a blend of historic and modern architecture.

Sault Sainte Marie (pop. 14,000) is one of the oldest cities in North America, having begun as a fur trading center in the early 17th century. A Jesuit mission was established here in 1641, and Father Marquette founded the first permanent settlement 27 years later, within the boundaries of what was to become Michigan. The Sault celebrated its 350th birthday in 2018.

Our sister city, Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario (pop 75,000), is a cultural, recreational, social, and entertainment center. The combined population of the Twin Saults allows for an international flavor abounding with the opportunities of a city, and the safety and comfort of a small town.